Career News

Eva Hevia wins Corday-Morgan Prize 2017

4. 10. 2017 | The AcademiaNet member is honoured for her contributions to the field of chemistry.
Prof Eva Hevia
Bild vergrößern
(© Prof Eva Hevia)

Prof Eva Hevia

One of this year's prestigious Corday-Morgan Prizes goes to University of Strathclyde chemist and AcademiaNet member Professor Eva Hevia. The award is handed out by the Royal Society of Chemistry to up to three UK-based scientists each year. It is reserved for persons below the age of 40 who have made the most meritorious contributions to chemistry. This year's recipients each receive 5000 Pounds (5641 Euros) as well as a medal and a certificate. In addition, the winners are set to undertake a lecture tour through the UK.

Prof Hevia was chosen by the awards committee in recognition of "her research on polar organometallic chemistry and in particular important contributions towards air- and moisture-tolerant synthesis". Her group's main research interest lies in the design and application of polymetallic reagents which combine metals with distinct polarities and integrate them with different ligand sets into the one molecule. Cooperative effects between the metals enable the opening up of new and exciting areas of chemistry centred on metal-mediated organic synthesis and supramolecular structure building. Recently she had made important advances in both the activation of N-heterocyclic molecules and Green Chemistry, including the first applications of polar organometallics in Deep Eutectic Solvents (DESs) as well as developing new s-block-based metal catalysts.

Further winners of this year's Corday-Morgan Prize are Professor Andrew Goodwin from the University of Oxford and Professor Tuomas Knowles from the University of Cambridge. Since its inception in 1949 by the chemist Sir Gilbert Morgan, the award has been given to numerous of world-leading chemists, including several Nobel laureates.

  (© AcademiaNet / Prof Eva Hevia)

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.


  1. AcademiaNet member Prof Frauke Melchior receives 2018 FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award

    The prize honours Prof. Melchior's outstanding achievements in the life sciences. In addition, winners of the award are role models who inspire future generations of scientists.

  2. AcademiaNet member Dr María Escudero Escribano wins Princess of Girona Foundation Scientific Research Award 2018

    The award recognises young investigators whose scientific advances have great potential to fuel innovation.

  3. Bacterial hiding game uncovered

    A team of scientists led by AcademiaNet member Prof Petra Dersch discovered how Yersinia germs hide from the immune system: They reduce the production of a toxin that, during an acute infection, causes tissue inflammation. When the inflammation subsides, the bacteria can "go undercover" and persist in their host for years.

  4. AcademiaNet member Brigitte Röder wins Hector Science Award

    The University of Hamburg neuropsychologist receives 150.000 € and becomes a member of the „Hector Fellows“.

  5. New structure in human sperm tails

    A highly effective tail is needed in order for a sperm to be able to swim and fertilise an egg. By using cryo-electron tomography, researchers led by AcademiaNet member Johanna Höög have identified a completely new nanostructure inside sperm tails. Their study has now been published in the journal Scientific Reports.