Short CV/Education and training

  • 1988
    Abitur (A-levels)

  • 1988 – 1994
    Studied medicine at Giessen University, Germany

  • 1994 – 1997
    Foundation year doctor und specialty registrar, Department of Anaesthesiology and Surgical Intensive Care, Giessen University

  • 1996
    Doctor of Medicine (Dr. med.)

  • 1997 – 1999
    Visiting researcher in the Department of Anesthesia Research Laboratories, Brigham & Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA, USA, sponsored by the German Research Foundation (DFG)

  • 1999 – 2006
    Staff doctor (specialty registrar and specialty doctor), Anaesthesiology Clinic, Erlangen University Hospital, Germany

  • 2000 – 2005
    Head of a DFG Emmy Noether junior research group

  • 2002
    Habilitation (postdoctoral qualification) in experimental anaesthesiology

  • 2005
    Specialist in anaesthesiology

  • Since 2005
    Head of the DFG-funded Clinical Research Unit KFO 130

  • 2006
    Appointed W2 professor of anaesthesiology, specialising in pain research, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg

  • Since 2009
    Managing consulting physician and deputy director, Anaesthesiology Clinic, Erlangen University Hospital

Selected publications

  • Choi, J.S. et al.: Alternative splicing may contribute to time-dependent manifestation of inherited erythromelalgia. In: Brain 133, 2010. S. 1823-1835.

  • Leffler, A. et al.: The vanilloid receptor TRPV1 is activated and sensitized by local anaesthetics in rodent sensory neurons. In: J Clin Invest 118, 2008. S. 763-776.

  • Zimmermann, K. et al.: Sensory neuron sodium channel Nav1.8 is essential for pain at low temperatures. In: Nature 447, 2007. S. 855-859.

  • Mohapatra, D.P., Nau, C.: Regulation of Ca2+-dependent desensitization in the vanilloid receptor TRPV1 by calcineurin and cAMP-dependent protein kinase. In: J Biol Chem 280(14), 2005. S. 13424-13432.

  • Mohapatra, D.P., Nau, C.: Desensitization of capsaicin-activated currents in the Vanilloid Receptor TRPV1 is decreased by the cyclic AMP-dependent protein kinase pathway. In: J Biol Chem 278(50), 2003. S. 50080-50090.

  • Nau, C., Wang, S.Y., Wang, G.K.: Point mutations at L1280 in Nav1.4 channel D3-S6 modulate binding affinity and stereoselectivity of bupivacaine enantiomers. In: Mol Pharmacol 63, 2003. S. 1398-1406.

  • Mohapatra, D.P. et al.: A tyrosine residue in TM6 of the Vanilloid Receptor-1 involved in desensitization and calcium permeability of capsaicin-activated currents. In: Mol Cell Neurosci 23, 2003. S. 314-324.

  • Nau, C. et al.: Block of human heart hH1 sodium channels by the enantiomers of bupivacaine. In: Anesthesiology 93, 2000. S. 1022-1033.

  • Nau, C. et al.: Block of human heart hH1 sodium channels by amitriptyline. In: J Pharmacol Exp Ther 292, 2000. S. 1015-1023.

  • Nau, C. et al.: Point mutations at N434 in µ1 Na+ channel D1-S6 modulate binding affinity and stereoselectivity of bupivacaine enantiomers. In: Mol Pharmacol 56, 1999. S. 404-413.

Selected projects

  • Emmy Noether Programme of the German Research Foundation (DFG): Structure, function and pharmacology of Na+-channels and vanilloid receptors, two membrane proteins involved in nociceptive processes

  • DFG Clinical Research Unit 130: Determinants and modulators of post-operative pain processing

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • Elected member of the medical review board for the subject area Anaesthesiology, German Research Foundation (DFG), 2008 – 2012

  • Member of the programme committee Basic Research, German Congress of Anaesthesia (DAC)

  • Secretary of the scientific working group Young Researchers (WAKWiN), German Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine (DGAI)


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. PhD My Andersson

    Biological and related sciences , HealthNeurophysiology (synaptic physiology)

  2. Prof. Dr. Katrin Amunts

    HealthBrain Research

  3. Prof. Patrizia Agostinis

    Biological and related sciences , HealthCell Biology, Cellular signaling, Cancer biology, Cancer therapy

  4. Dr. Nicola Allen

    HealthRole of astrocytes in brain function