Short CV/Education and training

  • 1983
    PhD in Physics

  • 1983 – 1988
    Research assistant Limburgs University Center

  • 1988 – 1989
    Research assistant Free University Brussels

  • 1989
    -1991 Motherhood break, Moving to Switzerland

  • 1991 – 1992
    Marie-Heim Vögtlin Stipendium of the Swiss National Science Foundation to restart professional career in Switzerland

  • 1992 – 1996
    Tenure position PSI

  • 1996 – 2001
    Research Staff Scientist PSI

  • since 2001
    Group leader MSS at PSI

  • since 2005
    Professor Titulaire EPFL(STI-IMX) and PSI

  • since 2012
    Full Professor EPFL(STI_IMX)and PSI

Selected publications

  • 7 thematic review articles, 3 book chapters, 189 peer reviewed papers in Thonpson-Reuters web of knowledge, H-index 40, highest cited paper 744.

Selected papers

  • H. Van Swygenhoven, P.M. Derlet, A. Froseth, Nanocrystalline metals: stacking fault energies and slip, Nature Materials 3 (2004) 399

  • Z. Budrovic, H. Van Swygenhoven, P. M. Derlet and S. Van Petegem, B. Schmitt, Reversible peak broadening during in-situ deformation of nanocrystalline Ni, Science 304 (2004) 273.

  • H. Van Swygenhoven, P.M. Derlet, A. G. Frøseth, Nucleation and propagation of a dislocations in nanocrystalline fcc metals, Acta Mater., 54 (2006) 1975.

  • R. Maaß, S. Van Petegem, H. Van Swygenhoven, P. M. Derlet, C. A. Volkert, D. Grolimund,

    Time resolved Laue diffraction of deforming micropillars, PRL, 76 (2007) 54124.

  • S. Van Petegem, S. Brandstetter, R. Maaß, A. M. Hodge, Bassem S. El-Dasher, J. Biener, B. Schmitt, C. Borca, H. Van Swygenhoven On the microstructure of nanoporous gold: an x-ray diffraction study, Nano Letters, 9(2008)1158

  • Weisser MA, Evans AD, Van Petegem S, Holdsworth SR, Van Swygenhoven H, In situ room temperature tensile deformation of a 1% CrMoV bainitic steel using synchrotron and neutron diffraction, Acta Mat 59 (2011) 4448.

  • Gao N, Van Swygenhoven H., Chen J, M. Victoria, Formation of dislocation loops during He clustering in bcc Fe Jnl of Physics- Condensed Matter 23(2011) 442201

  • Pierret S,.Evans A., .Paradowska A.M., Kaestner A., James J. Etter T..Van Swygenhoven H Combining neutron diffraction and imaging for residual strain measurements in a single crystal turbine blade, NDT&E International45(2012)39–45

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

Boards and Committees

  • Advisory Board Doctoral Training Centre (DTC) on Theory and Simulation of Materials (TSM) at Imperial College

  • Advisory Group (EAG) of the NMP program FP7; International Scientific Council of the Pprime Institute, UPR CNRS/University of Poitiers/ISAE-ENSMA

  • Board of trustees of the Freiburg Materials Research center (FMF), Germany

  • International Advisory Committee of the International Risø Symposium on Materials Science

  • Chair of the International Committee of Strength of Materials ( ICSMA)

  • member PSI research commission (FOKO)

  • member of advisory board ICAMS (computational Centre for Advanced Materials Modelling, Ruhr Univ. Germany

  • Editorial Advisory Panel of the journal “Materials Today”

Referee activities

  • Expert in thematic meetings between EU and India/China

  • referee beamline panel BM32 at ESRF

  • Referee panel “Excellence Initiative” of the German Research Foundation (DFG)

  • Materials review panel of the Academy of Finland

  • International review panel for the Helmholtz Association to evaluate the proposed Helmholtz institute in Ulm as a satellite of KIT (Karlsruhe institute of technology)

  • review panel of the Department of Energy's Materials Physics and Engineering programs LANL

  • Proposal refereeing for DFG, NSF (USA), DOE, SNF (CH) and FNRS (BE)

Conference organization

  • Vice chair ICSMA 16, 2012 and ICSMA 15

  • Symposium “ Size-dependent properties of nanomaterials” at EMRS 2011

  • Symposium “Modelling in material science” at the Swiss Physical Society, 2010

  • Chair of workshop “Small Scale Plasticity”, 2007

  • Meeting Chair of the MRS Fall meeting 2006

  • ICEM-symposium “Nanotechnology and MEMS, 2004

  • Symposium "Modelling and Simulation of Micro and Nano Systems" 6th US National Congress Computational Mechanics, 2001

  • United Engineering Foundation Conference "Structure and Mechanical Properties of Nanostructured Materials 2001

  • Symposium B in MRS-Fall 2000, "Structure and Mechanical Properties of Nanophase Materials, 2000


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Dr. Fatemeh Ajalloueian

    Physical sciencesBiopolymers, Fiber science

  2. Prof. Dr. Katharina Al-Shamery

    Physical sciencesSurface and interface science, (photo)catalysis and nanophotonics

  3. Prof. Dr. Conny Aerts

    Physical sciencesAsteroseismology

  4. Dr. Cristina Afonso

    Physical sciences