Short CV/Education and training

  • 1982
    B.A. Physics, Oxford University

  • 1985
    D.Phil. Molecular Biophysics, Oxford University. Supervisors: Profs. Andrew Miller & Sir David Phillips

  • 1985 – 1986
    Postdoc., Biochem. Dept., Edinburgh University

  • 1986 – 1988
    Postdoc., Lab. Mol. Biophysics, Oxford University

  • 1988
    autumn; Royal Society Bicentennial Study/Research Visit. Protein Chemistry Dept., CSIRO, Melbourne, Australia

  • 1988 – 1991
    Postdoc., Lab. Mol. Biophysics, Oxford University

  • 1991 – 2001
    Royal Society University Res. Fellow, Oxford University

  • 2001 – 2011
    Cancer Research UK Principal Res. Fellow, Oxford

  • 1999 – 2008
    Deputy Head of Structural Biology (Founding), Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics, Nuffield Dept. Medicine

  • Since 1999
    Director of the Cancer Research UK Receptor Structure Research Group

  • Since 2008
    Joint Head of Structural Biology, Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics (WTCHG), Oxford Univ.

  • Since 2010
    Deputy Director, WTCHG

Selected publications

5 recent publications selected from ~225 1985 – 2012:

  • B.J.C. Janssen, T. Malinauskas, G.A. Weir, M.Z. Cader, C. Siebold and E.Y. Jones*. (2012) ?Neuropilins lock secreted semaphorins onto plexins in a ternary signalling complex.? Nature Struct. Mol. Biol. 19, 1293-1299

  • C.H. Coles, Y. Shen, A.P. Tenney, C. Siebold, G.C. Sutton, W. Lu, J.T. Gallagher, E.Y Jones*, J.G. Flanagan* and A.R. Aricescu*. (2011) "Proteoglycan-specific molecular switch for RPTP? clustering and neuronal extension." Science 332, 484-488

  • B.J.C. Janssen, R.A. Robinson, F. Pérez-Brangulí, C.H. Bell, K.J. Mitchell, C. Siebold and E.Y. Jones*. (2010) "Structural basis of semaphorin-plexin signalling." Nature 467, 1118-1122

  • E. Seiradake, K. Harlos, G. Sutton, A.R. Aricescu* and E.Y. Jones*. (2010) "An extracellular steric seeding mechanism for Eph-ephrin signalling platform assembly." Nature Struct. Mol. Biol. 17, 398-402

  • A.R. Aricescu, C. Siebold, K. Choudhuri, V.T. Chang, W. Lu, S.J. Davis, P.A. van der Merwe and E.Y. Jones*. (2007) "Structure of a tyrosine phosphatase adhesive interaction reveals a spacer clamp mechanism." Science 317 1217-1220

  • *corresponding author

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • Member of ERC Starting Grant Panel LS1, 2012

  • Member of Academy of Finland BioMed CoE Panel, 2011 & 2013

  • Member of CRUK Biological Sciences Committee, 2011 – 2012

  • Chair of Academy of Medical Sciences Sectional committee 1, 2006 – 2009

  • Member of MRC Molecular and Cellular Medicine Board, 2005 – 2009

  • Member of Royal Society University Research Fellowships Panel (Bi), 2004 – 2006

  • Member of Academy of Medical Sciences Sectional committee 1, 2004 – 2006

  • Member of MRC Non Clinical Training and Career Development Panel, 2003 – 2007


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Prof. Lital Alfonta

    Biological and related sciences , Physical sciencesBioelectrochemistry, Synthetic Biology, Chemical Biology

  2. PhD Mar Albà

    Biological and related sciences Evolution, genomics, bioinformatics

  3. Dr. Malin Ah-King

    Biological and related sciences Evolutionary biology, Animal behaviour, Gender studies, Science studies

  4. PhD Sonja Aits

    Biological and related sciences cell biology, molecular biology, biomedicine



  1. Four AcademiaNet scientists join the Royal Society

    The prestigious scientific academy has elected 60 new fellows, of which 13 are women. Among them are AcademiaNet scientists Gabriele Hegerl, Yvonne Jones, Anne Ridley and Nicola Spaldin.