Short CV/Education and training


  • 1973 – 1976
    Beechlawn College (equivalent of U.S. high school), Oxford, U.K.

    BSc 1st Class Honours in Genetics and Microbiology, University College London

    PhD in Immunology and Genetics, Cancer Research UK Mentor: Ellen Solomon, PhD

    MSc in Immunology (Distinction), Royal Postgraduate Medical School

Postdoctoral Training

  • 1998 – 1999
    Mentor: David Gray, PhD, Imperial College School of Medicine. Specialty: Immunology. Project: The influence of B cell derived cytokines on T cell differentiation.

  • 1999 – 2002
    Mentor: Amanda Fisher, PhD, Imperial College School of Medicine. Specialty: Epigenetic gene regulation. Project: Nuclear organization of immunoglobulin genes in mature B cells.

Academic Appointments

  • 2002 – 2005
    Senior Lecturer (Tenured position), Department of Immunology and Molecular Pathology, University College London.

  • 2006 – 2009
    Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology, New York University School of Medicine.

  • 2009 – 2011
    Associate Professor, Department of Pathology, New York University School of Medicine.

  • 2011
    Associate Professor with tenure, Department of Pathology, New York University School of Medicine.

Selected publications

  • Skok JA, Brown KE, Azuara V, Caparros ML, Baxter J, Takacs K, Dillon N, Gray D, Perry RP, Merkenschlager M, Fisher AG. (2001) Nonequivalent nuclear location of immunoglobulin alleles in B lymphocytes. Nature Immunology Sep;2(9):848-54

  • Fuxa M*, Skok J*, Souabni A, Salvagiotto G, Roldan E, Busslinger M. (2004) Pax5 induces V-to-DJ rearrangements and locus contraction of the immunoglobulin heavy-chain gene. Genes & Dev. Feb 15;18(4):411-22. (*Joint first authorship.)

  • Roldán E, Fuxa M, Chong W, Martinez D, Novatchkova M, Busslinger M, Skok JA. (2005) Locus decontraction and centromeric recruitment contribute to allelic exclusion of the immunoglobulin heavy-chain gene. Nature Immunology 6(1):31-41.

  • Skok JA, Gisler R, Novatchkova M, Farmer D, de Laat W, Busslinger M: Reversible contraction by looping of the Tcra and Tcrb loci in rearranging thymocytes. Nature Immunology 2007, 8:378-387.

  • Hewitt SL, Farmer D, Marszalek K, Cadera E, Liang HE, Xu Y, Schlissel MS, Skok JA. (2008). Association between the Igk and Igh immunoglobulin loci mediated by the 3' Igk enhancer induces 'decontraction' of the Igh locus in pre-B cells. Nature Immunology Apr;9(4):396-404

  • Susannah L. Hewitt, Bu Yin, Yanhong Ji, Julie Chaumeil, Katarzyna Marszalek, Jeannette Tenthorey, Georgia Salvagiotto, Natalie Steinel, Laura Ramsey, Jacques Glysdael, Michael Farrar, Barry P. Sleckman, David G. Schatz, Meinrad Busslinger, Craig H. Bassing and Jane A. Skok. RAG1 and ATM co-ordinate mono-allelic recombination and nuclear positioning of immunoglobulin loci. Nat Immunol. 2009 Jun;10(6):655-64. (Highlighted in Cell Leading Edge, Cell 137, June 12, 2009 p. 981.) PMID: 19448632

  • Collins, A., Hewitt, S.L., Chaumeil, J., Sellars, M., Micsinai, M., Allinne, J., Parisi, F., Nora, E.P., Bolland, D.J., Corcoran, A.E., Kluger, Y., Bosselut, R., Ellmeier, W., Chong, M.M., Littman, D.R. & Skok, J.A. RUNX Transcription Factor-Mediated Association of Cd4 and Cd8 Enables Coordinate Gene Regulation. Immunity 34, 303-314 (2011).

  • Rocha, P.P., Micsinai, M., Kim, J.R., Hewitt, S.L., Souza, P.P., Trimarchi, T., Strino, F., Parisi, F., Kluger, Y. & Skok, J.A. Close Proximity to Igh Is a Contributing Factor to AID-Mediated Translocations. Molecular Cell (2012).

  • Julie Chaumeil, Mariann Micsinai, Panagiotis Ntziachristos, Ludovic Deriano, Joy M-H Wang, Yanhong Ji, Elphege P. Nora, Matthew J. Rodesch, Jeffrey A. Jeddeloh, Iannis Aifantis, Yuval Kluger, David G. Schatz, & Jane A. Skok. Higher-order looping and nuclear organization of antigen receptor loci facilitate targeted RAG cleavage and regulated rearrangement in recombination centers. In press Cell Reports (2013).

  • Chaumeil, J., Micsinai, M., Ntziachristos, P., Roth, D.B., Aifantis, I., Kluger, Y., Deriano, L. & Skok, J.A. The RAG2 C-terminus and ATM protect genome integrity by controlling antigen receptor gene cleavage. Nat Commun 4, 2231 (2013).

Complete list of publications

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

Major Committee Assignments

  • Chair of the Postgraduate Club, University College London, 2002-2006

  • Member review board for the Department of Environmental Medicine, NYU, 2012

  • Member executive committee Department of Pathology, NYU, 2012

  • Member scientific advisory committee for strategic planning NYU School of Medicine, 2012

  • Member Search committee Department of Pathology, NYU, 2013-2014

  • Member Search committee for Chair of Microbiology, 2013-2014

Memberships, Offices, and Committee Assignments in Professional Societies

  • Epigenome Network of Excellence European Lecture Series, 2007-2010

  • Co-chaired workshop on Transcriptional Regulation of B cell Development for the 2007 Keystone symposia, “B cells in health and disease.”, 2007

  • Organizer, Epigenome Network of Excellence European Lecture Series, 2007-2010

  • Organizer of the Epigenome Network of Excellence Workshop on Nuclear Organization, 2009

  • Chair of Nuclear compartmentalization session in the EMBO Conference Series on Nuclear Structure and Dynamics, 2011

  • Chair of Nuclear Function in Development and Disease in the Cold Spring Harbor meeting on Dynamic Organization of Nuclear Function, 2012

  • Member American Association of Immunologists, 2012-

  • Member American Society for Hematologists, 2012-


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. PhD Mar Albà

    Biological and related sciences Evolution, genomics, bioinformatics

  2. PhD Sonja Aits

    Biological and related sciences cell biology, molecular biology, biomedicine

  3. Dr. Sonja-Verena Albers

    Biological and related sciences Molecular biology, molecular microbiology, biochemistry, membrane protein biochemistry

  4. Prof. Avan Aihie Sayer

    HealthAcademic Medicine