Short CV/Education and training

  • Since 2017; Assistant Deputy Principal (Research and Innovation) Heriot-Watt University

  • 2008 – 2012
    Professor in Energy Technologies, University of Nottingham

  • since 2012
    Chair in Sustainable Energy Engineering, Heriot-Watt University

  • since 2013
    Director, Energy Academy

  • 2013-2016 Head of the Institute of Mechanical, Process and Energy Engineering, School of Engineering and Physical Sciences.

Selected publications

  • Over 410 publications, including editor of 4 books and 32% of her publications are in top 10% most cited worldwide

Complete list of publications

Selected projects


Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • leading positions in professional societies and editorial boards, including Editor-in-Chief of Greenhouse Gases: Science and Technology, Member Council of Environment, Sustainability, Energy Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Advisory Board-British Geological Survey (BGS), Member Committee Energy Group of SCI – Society of Chemical Industry, Expert Advisory Board – EU project SCOT – Smart CO2 Transformation, Member Committee Energy Group of SCI – Society of Chemical Industry, Member European Commission Expert Technical Group (TGC3), Research Fund for Coal and Steel (RFCS).


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Prof. Dr. Kirsten Bobzin

    Engineering and engineering trades , Physical sciencesSurface engineering, materials engineering

  2. Dr. Andrea Bachmaier

    Engineering and engineering trades , Physical sciences

  3. Dr. Anja Bieberle-Hütter

    Physical sciences, Engineering and engineering trades Materials Science: Thin Films, Microfabrication, and Microsystems

  4. Prof. Katrin Beyer

    Engineering and engineering trades Earthquake Engineering and Structural Dynamics; Structural Engineering; Civil Engineering



  1. ERC-Grants for 11 AcademiaNet members

    277 senior researchers received an ERC Advanced Grant, among them are Susanne Albers, Gabriela Constantin, Rachel Griffith, Martina Havenith, Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard, Mercedes Maroto-Valer (photo), Eva Schinnerer, Christa Schleper, Dr. Maria Sibilia, Ingrid Van Keilegom, and Hanna Vehkamäki. Congratulations!