Short CV/Education and training


  • 2018 – 2025
    Director of Centre of Excellence in Research of Sustainable Space, Finland

  • Since 2017
    Professor in Computational space physics, University of Helsinki

  • Since 2013
    Research professor in Space research, Finnish Meteorological Institute

  • Since 2011
    Head of Department (Earth Observation), Finnish Meteorological Institute

  • 2008 – 2013
    Academy Research Fellow, Academy of Finland

  • 2005 – 2008
    Academy of Finland postdoctoral fellow

  • 1999 – 2011
    Scientist at the Finnish Meteorological Institute


  • 2003
    Doctor of Philosphy, University of Helsinki, Department of Physics

  • 1999
    Master of Science, University of Helsinki, Department of Physics

    Advanced Management Education Program (Aalto JOKO82)

Selected publications

  • Lakka, A., Pulkkinen, T. I., Dimmock, A., Osmane, A., Honkonen, I., Palmroth, M., and Janhunen, P., Accuracy of MHD simulations: Effects of simulation initialization in GUMICS-4, submitted Ann. Geophys., 2017

  • Whittaker, I. C., Sembay, S., Read, A. M., Milan, S. E., Carter, J. A., and Palmroth, M., Modeling X-ray emission from solar wind charge exchange for two Earth interacting CME events in 2001, submitted, J. Geophys. Res., 2017

  • Hoilijoki, S., Ganse, U., Pfau-Kempf, Y., Cassak, P., Walsh, B., Hietala, H., von Alfthan, S., Palmroth, M., Reconnection rates and X-line motion at the magnetopause: Global 2D-3V hybrid-Vlasov simulation results, J. Geophys. Res., doi: 10.1002/2016JA023709, 2017

  • Vaivads, A., Retino, A., Soucek, J., Khotyaintsev, Y., Valentini, F., Escoubet, C., Alexandrova, O., Andre, M., Bale, S., Balikhin, M., Burgess, D., Camporeale, E., Caprioli, D., Chen, C., Clacey, E., Cully, C., De Keyser, J., Eastwood, J., Fazakerley, A., Eriksson, S., Goldstein, M., Graham, D., Haaland, S., Hoshino, M., Ji, H., Karimabadi, H., Kucharek, H., Lavraud, B., Marcucci, F., Matthaeus, W., Moore, T., Nakamura, R., Narita, Y., Nemecek, Z., Norgren, C., Opgenoorth, H., Palmroth, M., Perrone, D., Pinccon, J.-L., Rathsman, P., Rothkaehl, H., Saharoui, F., Servidio, S., Sorriso-Valvo, L., Vainio, R., Vörös, Z., Wimmer-Schweingruber, R., THOR Turbulence Heating ObserveR – satellite mission proposal, J. Plasma Phys., doi:10.1017/S0022377816000775, 2016

  • Pfau-Kempf, Y., Hietala, H., Milan, S. E., Juusola, L., Hoilijoki, S., Ganse, U., von Alfthan, S., and Palmroth, M., Evidence for transient, local ion foreshocks caused by dayside magnetopause reconnection, Ann. Geophys., doi:10.5194/angeo-34-943-2016, 2016

  • Hoilijoki, S., Palmroth, M., Walsh, B. M., Pfau-Kempf, Y., von Alfthan, S., Ganse, U., Hannuksela, O., and Vainio, R., Mirror modes in the Earth’s magnetosheath: results from a global hybrid-Vlasov simulations, J. Geophys. Res., 121, doi:10.1002/2015JA022026, 2016

  • Palin, L., Opgenoorth, H. J., Ågren, K., Zivkovic, T., Sergeev, V. A., Kubyshkina, M. V., Nikolaev, A., Kauristie, K., van de Kamp, M., Amm, O., Milan, S. E., Imber, S. M., Facsko, G., Palmroth, M., and Nakamura, R., Modulation of the current wedge by bursty bulk flows: September 8, 2002 – Revisited, J. Geophys. Res., 121, 4466–4482, doi:10.1002/2015JA022262, 2016

  • Whittaker, I. C., Sembay, S., Carter, J. A., Read, A. M., Milan, S. E., and Palmroth, M., Modeling the magnetospheric X-ray emission from solar wind charge exchange with verification from XMM-Newton observations, J. Geophys. Res., 121, 4158–4179, doi:10.1002/2015JA022292, 2016

  • Gordeev, E. I., Sergeev, V. A., Honkonen, I., Kuznetsova, M., Rastätter, L., Palmroth, M., Janhunen, P., Toth, G., Lyon, J., Wiltberger, M., and Sibeck, D., Assessing the performance of community-available global MHD models using key system parameters and empirical relationships, Space Weather, 13, doi:10.1002/2015SW001307, 2015

  • Palmroth, M., Archer, O., Vainio, R., Hietala, H., Pfau-Kempf, Y., Hoilijoki, S., Hannuksela, O., Ganse, U., Sandroos, A., von Alfthan, S., and Eastwood, J., ULF foreshock under radial IMF: THEMIS observations and global kinetic simulation Vlasiator results compared, J. Geophys. Res., doi:10.1002/2015JA021526, 2015

Complete list of publications

Selected projects

  • Finnish Centre of Excellence in Research of Sustainable Space (Director), aims at sustainable utilisation of space

  • ERC Consolidator grant PRESTISSIMO develops and applies Vlasiator

  • Academy of Finland project looks at shocks and reconnection using Vlasiator

  • Global MHD simulation GUMICS

  • ERC Starting grant to develop Vlasiator

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

Positions of trust (academic and professional, short list)

  • Space law committee, Ministry of Economic affairs and employment, since 2017

  • Chair, Scientific Advisory Board, European Commission Space programme, Horizon2020, since 2015

  • Commission of Space affairs in Finland, member of Secreteriat, since 2015

  • Scientific Advisory Board “Science with and for the society”, European Commission H2020 programme, since 2014

  • Scientific Advisory Board, European Commission Space programme, Horizon2020, 2013 – 2015

  • Cooperation forum to advise in scientific computing in Finland within Centre of Scientific Computing Ltd, Ministry of Education and Culture, representing government research institutes, 2013 – 2015

  • Space security board member, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Finland, since 2012

  • Committee for Space Research (COSPAR), Finnish National Committee, since 2012

  • Delegate of Finland, European weather spacecraft organization (EUMETSAT) Scientific and Technical group, 2011 – 2016

  • Kumpula Space Centre, Vice President, since 2011

Positions of trust (societal)

  • Advisory board, Vapa Media, since 2016

  • Board, Finnish Physical Society, since 2016

  • Board, Eurooppanaiset ry, since 2015

  • Board, Ursa ry (Finnish astronomical society with 18,000 members), since 2015

  • Member of high level Advisory Council (Neuvottelukunta), Nordea Pankki Suomi Oyj, 2012 – 2014


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Prof. Núria Aliaga-Alcalde

    Physical sciencesNanoscience and nanotechnology, Coordination Chemistry, Supramolecular Chemistry, Molecular Magnetism

  2. Dr. Ana Akrap

    Physical sciencesExperimental condensed matter physics

  3. Dr. Bahareh Afshari

    Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs), Mathematics and statisticsMathematical and Computational Logic

  4. Prof. Dr. Barbara Albert

    Physical sciencesInorganic solid state and materials chemistry