Career News

Anne Glover awarded the 2021 Society for Applied Microbiology Fellowship

11.11.2021 | The prize was given for Prof Dame Glover’s role in developing microbiology as a field and discipline
Prof Dame Lesley Anne Glover
Bild vergrößern
Prof Dame Lesley Anne Glover
Professor Dame Anne Glover has been named as the 2021 recipient of the Society for Applied Microbiology (SfAM) Fellowship. The prize is awarded to scientists who have ‘changed the face of microbiology or science as a whole’. Recent previous recipients of the prize include Nobel laureate and CRISPR co-inventor Prof Jennifer Doudna and Sir David Attenborough.

Prof Dame Glover’s academic research focused on many different aspects of microbiology: the soil microbiome, such as the bacteria found in different grasslands; methods for testing bacterial reactions to environmental pollution such as heavy metals; and physiological responses to environmental stress.

But she is perhaps most well-known for her trailblazing career as a scientific adviser. She was the first Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland until 2012 when she became the first Chief Scientific Adviser to the President of the European Commission. While the position changed in 2016 to become the Scientific Advice Mechanism, which includes a group of scientific advisors, her legacy of scientific policy advice remains. She’s now the Special Adviser to the Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Strathclyde, Prof Sir Jim McDonald.

The SfAM Fellowship is only the most recent in a long line of honours and awards for Prof Dame Glover, including Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Society of Arts, the American Society for Microbiology, the Royal Society, and an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Society of Biology. Of course, in 2015, she was also made Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) in the Queen’s Birthday Honours, an upgrade of her 2009 appointment as Commander (CBE).

Prof Dame Glover will be awarded the Fellowship Award on December 6th 2021.
  (© Emilie Steinmark / AcademiaNet /

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us


  1. Veronika Kalmus and Kairit Tammets win prizes for education research papers

    The two AcademiaNet members’ papers both focused on technology use in a school setting

  2. ‘We didn’t come this far to only come this far’

    The Volkswagen Foundation is now funding AcademiaNet’s Clubs. We connected with their Head of the Funding, Dr. Henrike Hartmann, and Secretary General, Dr. Georg Schütte, for a talk about creating change and moving beyond 25% female professors.

  3. Erin Schuman has won the 2022 FEBS | EMBO Women in Science Award

    Her recent contributions to neuroscience and her status as an inspiring role model landed her the award

  4. Ruth Lehmann wins the Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science

    The developmental geneticist is recognised for her research on germ cells and her mentoring of young female scientists

  5. Almut Arneth, Marietta Auer and Stefanie Dehnen among recipients of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2022

    The AcademiaNet members are honoured for their research on ecosystems and climate change, legal history and theory, and metal cluster synthesis.

Academia Net