Economist Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln wins Leibniz Prize

22.12.2017 | The AcademiaNet member will receive the prestigious award, worth 2.5 Mio €, from the German Research Foundation (DFG).
Professor Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln
Bild vergrößern
(© Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln )

Professor Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln

The winners of the 2018 Leibniz Prize have been announced this month – among them economist Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln. She is one of 11 scientists, among them 4 women, who receive this accolade for their "outstanding achievements in the field of research" in the coming year.

Fuchs-Schündeln is an economic scientist at the Goethe University Frankfurt where she researches the differences in economic values and preferences between Western Germans and people that were brought up in Eastern Germany before the fall of the wall. Furthermore, she is interested in saving, consumption and working behaviour of private households. Again, she regularly takes advantage of the particular situation in Germany, where the reunification caused a dramatic economic change in the East, but not so much in the West of the unified German Federation. In more recent works, Prof Fuchs-Schündeln also investigates why Europeans work fewer hours per year compared the US-Americans. Her research identifies the tax system as a major contributor to these differences.

The President of the Goethe University of Frankfurt, Professor Birgitta Wolff, congratulated her colleague with the following words: "This is a deserved acknowledgement of the extraordinarily successful scientific work from Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln. She plays an outstanding role in the economic sciences in Germany and she can already look back in an impressive international career. In her innovative research approach she combines macro- and microeconomy and delves into unexpected research topics. She is a real inspiration for many."

The funds from the Leibniz Prize – an amount of 2.5 Million Euros, paid over the course of five years – will allow Fuchs-Schündeln to continue her exceptional work and expand her research group in the Goethe University Frankfurt. The award money can be used flexibly by the laureates. The DFG states that the program "aims to improve the working conditions of outstanding scientists and academics, expand their research opportunities, relieve them of administrative tasks, and help them employ particularly qualified early career researchers."

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize is the one of the most important research awards in Germany. It was established in 1985, and past awardees include a substantial number of high profile scientists, such as the biological scientists – and later Nobel Laureates - Hartmut Michel and Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard.

  (© AcademiaNet)

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.


  1. Sandra Luber is the 2021 recipient of the Coblentz Award

    The theoretician, who develops novel computational methods in absorption and vibrational spectroscopy, is among only a handful of women to win since 1964.

  2. Maria Leptin to become new President of the European Research Council

    The developmental biologist only recently stepped down from her role as Director of EMBO.

  3. Elizabeth von Hauff becomes Director of the Fraunhofer FEP Institute

    The physicist, who specialises in solar power and energy conversion, has also been given a professorship at the Dresden University of Technology.

  4. Tatjana Parac-Vogt: ‘In my group, we have a few babies. I mean, why not?’

    Women shouldn’t feel bad about having children, even if they haven’t landed a permanent position yet, says Professor Tatjana N. Parac-Vogt. We spoke to the bioinorganic chemist from KU Leuven about creating a more inclusive academic culture, the importance of mentorship and the new will at universities to solve academia’s gender parity problem.

  5. The Global Research Council elects Katja Becker as Chair

    The physician and biochemist is also the current President of the German Research Foundation (DFG).

Academia Net