Career News

Eilika Weber-Ban and Eleftheria Zeggini elected members of EMBO

21.6.2021 | The AcademiaNet members were recognised for their outstanding achievements in protein degradation studies and big data genomics, respectively.
Bild vergrößern
(© unsplash / Christian Fregnan)

Professor Eilika Weber-Ban of ETH Zurich and Professor Eleftheria Zeggini of Helmholtz Zentrum Munich have been announced as new members of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO), among 62 other exceptional life scientists. According to EMBO director and fellow AcademiaNet member Maria Leptin, “an election to the EMBO membership recognises outstanding achievements in the life sciences.”

Prof Weber-Ban has been based at the Institute of Molecular Biology and Biophysics at ETH Zurich since 2001, gaining full professorship in 2010. Her group works on protein degradation and protein quality control in mycobacteria, specifically the molecular machines that are responsible for breaking down proteins to ensure homeostasis and help the bacteria cope with environmental challenges and stress. Understanding these survival strategies is crucial because some mycobacteria are among the deadliest human pathogens, in particular mycobacterium tuberculosis which is responsible for more than 10 million infections worldwide every year.

Prof Zeggini is the founding director of the Institute of Translational Genomics at Helmholtz Zentrum Munich and holds a professorship at the Technical University of Munich. Her expertise is in genome-wide association studies of complex human traits and diseases. Specifically, she combines high-throughput genetic sequencing with population data to identify targets for new therapies and biomarkers for earlier diagnosis, with a lot of her work focusing on osteoarthritis and type 2 diabetes. One of her aims is to improve precision medicine, which takes into account the genetic and environmental variability of the individual, with a shorter path from genomic insight to clinical treatment.

EMBO currently has around 1,800 members, each of which have had to be nominated and elected by the existing membership as there is no application process. This year’s cohort included members residing in 21 different countries. 41% of the new members were women, slightly down from 44% last year.   (© AcademiaNet)

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.


  1. Jane Hillston and Julie Welburn awarded medals by the Royal Society of Edinburgh

    The AcademiaNet members received their medals for outstanding work in computer science and cell biology, respectively.

  2. Daniela Grunow and team win funding for new DFG Research Unit on the consequences of social change

    The new Research Unit will investigate how changing social structures affect individual views, beliefs and behaviours in today’s Germany.

  3. Christiane Helling becomes new director of the Space Research Institute of the ÖAW

    The astrophysicist will among other things lead the institute through its contribution to ESA’s VOYAGE 2050 programme.

  4. Anja Boisen lands 6 million DKK in funding from the Novo Nordisk Foundation

    With the grant comes the title of Distinguished Innovator, making the renowned health tech researcher and nanotechnologist an ‘ambassador for innovation’.

  5. Karin Jacobs elected Vice President of the German Research Foundation (DFG)

    The experimental physicist is one of four new appointees to the Executive Committee of Germany’s largest research funding body.

Academia Net