Eva Boxenbaum awarded the EliteForsk Prize 2021

12.5.2021 | The professor was honoured for her outstanding work on institutional innovation and organisational change.
Prof Eva Boxenbaum
Bild vergrößern
(© Eva Boxenbaum)

Prof Eva Boxenbaum

The most prestigious Danish research award, the EliteForsk Prize, has been awarded to Professor Eva Boxenbaum. With the prize comes 200,000 Danish Kroner (€27,000) as a personal award, plus another 1 million Danish Kroner (€135,000) for research.

“I am honoured to receive this prize,” Prof Boxenbaum told AcademiaNet. “It is a great recognition of the scientific impact that my research has generated for the first 15 years of my career. I hope this prize will contribute to […] helping it reach broader segments of society and stimulate debate.”

Her research is centred on how permanent change is achieved and what conditions must exist to make it possible. In particular, she focuses on how passionate individuals and organisations contribute to bringing about change on a societal level. For example, she has studied changes within architecture, construction practices and corporate social responsibility.

“The monetary reward will give me an opportunity to conduct research in the organisational set-up that I find most stimulating: a team constellation with other senior female scholars at the same level as me,” Prof Boxenbaum said. “I played competitive volleyball when I was younger, and I really enjoy working in a team structure like that.”

Prof Boxenbaum is based at Copenhagen Business School, where she also did her PhD and has held various Associate Professorships. She originally trained at McGill University in Montreal, Canada, and she has spent time as a Visiting Scholar around the world, including at Stanford University, Harvard University, University of Paris, and Mines ParisTech.

Five EliteForsk Prizes are awarded annually by the Danish Ministry of Higher Education and Science.   (© Emilie Steinmark / AcademiaNet)

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us


  1. Michaela Raggam-Blesch awarded the Leon Zelman Prize in Vienna

    The historian is honoured for her work documenting and remembering the Holocaust and ‘giving victims a voice’

  2. Four AcademiaNet members secure funding from the Swedish Brain Foundation

    Their projects cover Alzheimer’s Disease, Parkinson’s Disease, depression and neonatal brain development

  3. Ursula Keller has won the Swiss Science Prize Marcel Benoist, known as the ‘Swiss Nobel Prize’

    The physicist is honoured for her work on ultrafast lasers, including systems now used in manufacturing, communications technology and surgery

  4. Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser receives Croonian Medal and Lecture from the Royal Society

    She was chosen for her ground-breaking work on plant hormones and her dedication to gender equality in science

  5. Agneta Nordberg receives Lifetime Achievement Award from the Alzheimer’s Association

    The neuroscientist is known for her ground-breaking work on amyloid PET imaging and the neurotransmitter acetylcholine

Academia Net