Eva Boxenbaum awarded the EliteForsk Prize 2021

12.5.2021 | The professor was honoured for her outstanding work on institutional innovation and organisational change.
Prof Eva Boxenbaum
Bild vergrößern
(© Eva Boxenbaum)

Prof Eva Boxenbaum

The most prestigious Danish research award, the EliteForsk Prize, has been awarded to Professor Eva Boxenbaum. With the prize comes 200,000 Danish Kroner (€27,000) as a personal award, plus another 1 million Danish Kroner (€135,000) for research.

“I am honoured to receive this prize,” Prof Boxenbaum told AcademiaNet. “It is a great recognition of the scientific impact that my research has generated for the first 15 years of my career. I hope this prize will contribute to […] helping it reach broader segments of society and stimulate debate.”

Her research is centred on how permanent change is achieved and what conditions must exist to make it possible. In particular, she focuses on how passionate individuals and organisations contribute to bringing about change on a societal level. For example, she has studied changes within architecture, construction practices and corporate social responsibility.

“The monetary reward will give me an opportunity to conduct research in the organisational set-up that I find most stimulating: a team constellation with other senior female scholars at the same level as me,” Prof Boxenbaum said. “I played competitive volleyball when I was younger, and I really enjoy working in a team structure like that.”

Prof Boxenbaum is based at Copenhagen Business School, where she also did her PhD and has held various Associate Professorships. She originally trained at McGill University in Montreal, Canada, and she has spent time as a Visiting Scholar around the world, including at Stanford University, Harvard University, University of Paris, and Mines ParisTech.

Five EliteForsk Prizes are awarded annually by the Danish Ministry of Higher Education and Science.   (© Emilie Steinmark / AcademiaNet)

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.


  1. Sandra Luber is the 2021 recipient of the Coblentz Award

    The theoretician, who develops novel computational methods in absorption and vibrational spectroscopy, is among only a handful of women to win since 1964.

  2. Maria Leptin to become new President of the European Research Council

    The developmental biologist only recently stepped down from her role as Director of EMBO.

  3. Elizabeth von Hauff becomes Director of the Fraunhofer FEP Institute

    The physicist, who specialises in solar power and energy conversion, has also been given a professorship at the Dresden University of Technology.

  4. Tatjana Parac-Vogt: ‘In my group, we have a few babies. I mean, why not?’

    Women shouldn’t feel bad about having children, even if they haven’t landed a permanent position yet, says Professor Tatjana N. Parac-Vogt. We spoke to the bioinorganic chemist from KU Leuven about creating a more inclusive academic culture, the importance of mentorship and the new will at universities to solve academia’s gender parity problem.

  5. The Global Research Council elects Katja Becker as Chair

    The physician and biochemist is also the current President of the German Research Foundation (DFG).

Academia Net