Career News

Margarita Díaz-Andreu given the 2021 Ramón Menéndez Pidal National Award

1.4.2022 | The committee highlighted her contributions to archaeoacoustics and gender studies within archaeology
Margarita Díaz-Andreu
Bild vergrößern
Margarita Díaz-Andreu

The archaeologist Margarita Díaz-Andreu from the University of Barcelona in Spain has received the highly prestigious 2021 Ramón Menéndez Pidal National Award. It is one of the ten National Research Awards given annually by the Spanish Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities. The prize comes with €30,000.


Prof Díaz-Andreu was given the award for "the quality, creativity and international impact of her research career in the field of archaeology, highlighting her contributions to gender studies and pioneering work in the field of archaeoacoustics," said a press release.


This reasoning showcases the remarkable breadth of Prof Díaz-Andreu’s work. For example, she leads a highly multidisciplinary ERC project on ancient sacred places, which often feature rock art and might have special acoustics, and seeks to understand what these important ‘soundscapes’ meant and how they were used by past people. She has also published extensively on gender, ethnicity and nationalism in the field of archaeology itself, as well as its 19th and 20th century history.


As a National Research Award recipient, Prof Díaz-Andreu joins several other AcademiaNet members, who have won in previous years, including the computer scientist Carme Torras and microbiologist Laura Lechuga who both won in 2020.

  (© Emilie Steinmark / AcademiaNet /

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us


  1. Michaela Raggam-Blesch awarded the Leon Zelman Prize in Vienna

    The historian is honoured for her work documenting and remembering the Holocaust and ‘giving victims a voice’

  2. Four AcademiaNet members secure funding from the Swedish Brain Foundation

    Their projects cover Alzheimer’s Disease, Parkinson’s Disease, depression and neonatal brain development

  3. Ursula Keller has won the Swiss Science Prize Marcel Benoist, known as the ‘Swiss Nobel Prize’

    The physicist is honoured for her work on ultrafast lasers, including systems now used in manufacturing, communications technology and surgery

  4. Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser receives Croonian Medal and Lecture from the Royal Society

    She was chosen for her ground-breaking work on plant hormones and her dedication to gender equality in science

  5. Agneta Nordberg receives Lifetime Achievement Award from the Alzheimer’s Association

    The neuroscientist is known for her ground-breaking work on amyloid PET imaging and the neurotransmitter acetylcholine

Academia Net