Career News

Michela Massimi and Niki Vermeulen secure funding from the Royal Society of Edinburgh

14.10.2021 | The grants are part of the £1.8 million RSE Saltire Research Awards.
The two AcademiaNet members Prof Michela Massimi and Dr Niki Vermeulen have secured funding through the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) Saltire Research Awards, for separate projects.

Prof Michela Massimi
Bild vergrößern
Prof Michela Massimi
Prof Massimi is a philosopher of science based at the University of Edinburgh. Her research is at the cross-section of history and philosophy, with a focus on the physical sciences. Currently, her main project is on the role of perspectivism – the idea that all observations are coloured by the interpretation and perspective of the observer – in scientific modelling, particularly in particle physics and cosmology. Her new grant is a Facilitation Workshop Award and will go towards a project called ‘Scientific knowledge across jurisdictions: Traceability, access and benefit sharing (ABS), scientific policy’.

Dr Niki Vermeulen
Bild vergrößern
Dr Niki Vermeulen
Dr Vermeulen is also based the University of Edinburgh, but as a senior lecturer in the history and sociology of science. She specialises in science and innovation policy, as well as scientific collaboration within the life sciences. For example, she has worked on mapping out collaborations within research institutions like the Francis Crick Institute, and on whether so-called ‘synthesis centres’ achieve the output diversity they aspire to. Her grant is a Facilitation Network Award and is given to a project called ‘Geographies of scientific collaboration’.

The RSE Saltire Research Awards total £1.8 million and are funded by the Scottish Government. 93 projects received support, half of which are early-career projects.   (© Emilie Steinmark / AcademiaNet /

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.


  1. ‘The fourth wave may hit us harder than the last’

    What’s it like to be an expert on viruses during a deeply politicised pandemic? We spoke to one of Germany’s busiest pandemic pundits, Professor Melanie Brinkmann, about personal drive, hate mail, and her hopes for the future.

  2. Nadine Akkerman: ‘Women’s letters have been ignored for a long time’

    Dr Nadine Akkerman from the University of Leiden spends her time breaking cipher codes to read the secret letters of 17th-century women. We asked her about her new book on Elizabeth Stuart and about why women made excellent spies during the English Civil War.

  3. Three AcademiaNet members secure Humanities and Social Sciences funding from the Swedish Research Council

    The funding for the three members totals over 16 million Swedish Kronor, or 1.6 million euro.

  4. Anne Glover awarded the 2021 Society for Applied Microbiology Fellowship

    The prize was given for Prof Dame Glover’s role in developing microbiology as a field and discipline

  5. Susanne Rau: »Religious groups profited from urban developments«

    Professor Susanne Rau from the University of Erfurt researches the reciprocal formation of religion and urbanity. AcademiaNet spoke with her about the ongoing interdependence of the two concepts as well as her most recent research around the rise and fall of European fairs.

Academia Net