Career News

Pascale Ehrenfreund awarded the 2022 COSPAR Harrie Massey Award

5.8.2022 | The Austrian astrophysicist was honoured for her "outstanding contributions" to space research.
Professor Pascale Ehrenfreund has been awarded the 2022 Harrie Massey Award from the Committee on Space Research (COSPAR). COSPAR said that she was given the award for her "outstanding contributions to the development of space research and her leadership in space science and policy."
A professor of space policy and international affairs at George Washing University in the USA, Prof Ehrenfreund has played a leading role within international space science for years, including on ESA and NASA missions. At present, she is the President of the International Astronautical Federation, the President of the International Space University, and a special advisor to the European Commission.
"Her expertise and vision have been fundamental to the successful work of various boards and governing entities with which she has been associated," COSPAR said in a statement.
Prof Ehrenfreund has extensive academic credentials, including a Master’s in Molecular Biology, a PhD in Astrophysics, a Doctorate in Astrochemistry and a second Master’s in Management and Leadership. Additionally, she was the first female president of the Austrian Science Fund when she was selected in 2013, and she has a main-belt asteroid named in her honour: 9826 Ehrenfreund.
The award is named after the Australian physicist Sir Harrie Massey, known for his work in atomic and atmospheric physics.   (© Emilie Steinmark / AcademiaNet /

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us


  1. Michaela Raggam-Blesch awarded the Leon Zelman Prize in Vienna

    The historian is honoured for her work documenting and remembering the Holocaust and ‘giving victims a voice’

  2. Four AcademiaNet members secure funding from the Swedish Brain Foundation

    Their projects cover Alzheimer’s Disease, Parkinson’s Disease, depression and neonatal brain development

  3. Ursula Keller has won the Swiss Science Prize Marcel Benoist, known as the ‘Swiss Nobel Prize’

    The physicist is honoured for her work on ultrafast lasers, including systems now used in manufacturing, communications technology and surgery

  4. Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser receives Croonian Medal and Lecture from the Royal Society

    She was chosen for her ground-breaking work on plant hormones and her dedication to gender equality in science

  5. Agneta Nordberg receives Lifetime Achievement Award from the Alzheimer’s Association

    The neuroscientist is known for her ground-breaking work on amyloid PET imaging and the neurotransmitter acetylcholine

Academia Net