Career News

Professor Dame Caroline Dean receives 2018 L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Award

22. 3. 2018 | Today, five outstanding female researchers will be honoured for their contribution to advancements in the life sciences. Among them: AcademiaNet member Prof Dame Caroline Dean.
Professor Dame Caroline Dean
Bild vergrößern
(© John Innes Centre)

Professor Dame Caroline Dean

20 years after its inception, the 2018 L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards are presented once again to five accomplished scientists from five continents in Paris today. All of the laureates are global leaders in their field, and they will receive €100,000 in prize money each for their outstanding contribution to advances in science.

For Europe, British plant scientist Prof Dame Caroline Dean was chosen as laureate by the independent jury, chaired by 2009 Nobel Prize winner Professor Elizabeth H. Blackburn. The judges picked Prof Dean for her "ground-breaking research on how plants adapt to their surroundings and climate change, leading to new ways for crop improvement."

Prof Dean's lab at the John Innes Centre studies a plant development process called vernalisation. Cold temperatures trigger epigenetic changes in the genome of many plants, resulting in an acceleration of flowering. Understanding the processes at work also has ecological significance as it reveals under which conditions the plants will thrive.

Dale Sanders, Director of the John Innes Centre, points out that Prof Dean is not only an outstanding researcher, but also an advocate for female scientists: "Caroline is an excellent role model and ambassador for women in science. Her passion and drive for her science is inspiring and she works with outstanding enthusiasm to encourage more women to aspire to be scientists and to reach their full potential. She is a shining example to us all."

The L'Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science Awards each year honours five exceptional female researchers. It aims to shine a light on the many eminent women in science all over the world, and in particular they expose the under-representation of women in prestigious awards. This year the organisers draw attention to the fact that all nine of the Nobel Prizes for science in 2017 were awarded to men, and since the creation of the Nobel Prizes in science, fewer than 3 percent have been awarded to women.

  (© AcademiaNet)

More information

Additional articles on this topic


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.


  1. Ottoline Leyser announced as new CEO at UK Research and Innovation

    Eminent plant biologist and long-time science policy advisor will take over from Prof Sir Mark Walport.

  2. Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize awarded to Dagmar Schäfer

    Historian of Chinese science and technology to receive Germany’s highest research accolade.

  3. Eve's Achilles Heel

    Researchers at our funding organisation Max Planck Society found out that for women, stress and competition is a bad combination.

  4. Neuroscientist Erin Schuman granted 2020 Louis-Jeantet Prize

    Prof Schuman received the prestigious prize for her work on the neurophysiology of memory.

  5. «We want to improve the visibility of women researchers»

    The Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) has been managing AcademiaNet since January 2020, when it took over from the Robert Bosch Stiftung (RBS). Simona Isler, gender equality representative of the SNSF, talks about ideas and plans for the future.