Ruth Lehmann wins the 2021 Vilcek Prize in Biomedical Science

3.12.2020 | The developmental cell biologist receives the honour for her ground-breaking work on reproductive cells.
Bild vergrößern
(© unsplash / Michael Longmire)

Developmental cell biologist, Professor Ruth Lehmann, has won the 2021 Vilcek Prize in Biomedical Science. She receives the prize for revealing the formation of germ cells—the cells that become egg and sperm cells.

When an embryo is formed, germ cells are set aside before ultimately migrating to the gonads, i.e. the testes or the ovaries, of the organism and becoming new reproductive cells. This happens over and over with each generation. The goal of Prof. Lehmann’s research is to completely dissect and understand the life cycle of germ cells in Drosophila fruit flies. Already she has uncovered critical information about the role of RNA and mitochondria in guiding and protecting the cells that ensures that reproductive abilities can be maintained and passed on.

Prof. Lehman started her academic career at the University of Tuebingen in Germany, before spending considerable time at MIT and the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research. Since 1996, she has been based at New York University as the Chair of the Department of Cell Biology and Director of the Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine. In the summer of 2020, she returned to the Whitehead Institute, this time as Director.

The prestigious prize, which comes with a $100,000 cash award, is far from Prof. Lehmann’s first. In 2018, she received the Keith R. Porter Award from the American Society of Cell Biology; in 2017, the Inaugural Klaus Sander Prize from the German Society of Developmental Biology; and she was awarded the Conklin Medal by the Society of Developmental Biology back in 2011.

The institution behind the prize, the Vilcek Foundation, aims to raise awareness of immigrant contributions to the arts and sciences in the United States, and the prizes are awarded to immigrants who have made lasting contributions to American society.   (© AcademiaNet)

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.


  1. María Escudero Escribano awarded the 2021 Journal of Materials Chemistry Lectureship

    The chemist, who specialises in electrocatalyst materials, will receive an all-expenses paid trip to a leading international meeting

  2. Almut Arneth, Marietta Auer and Stefanie Dehnen among recipients of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2022

    The AcademiaNet members are honoured for their research on ecosystems and climate change, legal history and theory, and metal cluster synthesis.

  3. Beate Heinemann becomes first woman to join Directorate at DESY

    From February, Prof Heinemann will become Director of Particle Physics at the research centre

  4. The Swedish Research Council funds six AcademiaNet members in the natural sciences

    The members’ projects will tackle such subjects as lepton-proton interactions and carbon sequestration in the ocean.

  5. ‘The fourth wave may hit us harder than the last’

    What’s it like to be an expert on viruses during a deeply politicised pandemic? We spoke to one of Germany’s busiest pandemic pundits, Professor Melanie Brinkmann, about personal drive, hate mail, and her hopes for the future.

Academia Net