Career News

Silvia Arber has been awarded the 2022 Brain Prize

18.3.2022 | She receives the prize for mapping movement-controlling neurons in the brain and spine.
The neurobiologist Silvia Arber has been awarded the prestigious Brain Prize from the Lundbeck Foundation, alongside colleagues Ole Kiehn and Martyn Goulding. Worth €1.3 million, The Brain Prize is the world’s largest neuroscience research award. It will be presented to the recipients by the Crown Prince of Denmark in May.

Prof Arber is based the Biozentrum Center for Molecular Life Sciences at the University of Basel, as well as the Friedrich Miescher Institute in Basel, Switzerland. Her work is focused on the circuits of neurons that control movement in the body. For example, she has shown how groups of neurons in the brainstem – the ‘stalk’ that connects the brain with the spinal cord – work with neurons in the spine to manage how mice move their front legs.

“An international group of three neuroscientists have revolutionized our understanding of the cell types and circuits that control how we move,” wrote the Lundbeck Foundation of the winners. “Theirs is a remarkable discovery story in fundamental neuroscience that highlights the need and paves the way for cell type-specific diagnostics and interventions in disorders of movement.”

“Being awarded the Brain Prize for our work on the organization and function of neuronal circuits controlling body movements is a huge honor, and it is really a tribute to a continuous team achievement throughout many years,” said Prof Arber in a press release.

She also highlighted how her remarkable family has shaped her as a scientist in her autobiography for the Brain Prize. “One might say I learned to be a researcher during my childhood: I frequently went to the laboratory with my father as a child, enjoying counting bacterial colonies.” Her father, Werner Arber, won the Nobel Prize in Medicine when she was ten. Her young sister, Caroline Arber, also took up the science mantle and now leads a research group in Lausanne.

  (© Emilie Steinmark / AcademiaNet /

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us


  1. Michaela Raggam-Blesch awarded the Leon Zelman Prize in Vienna

    The historian is honoured for her work documenting and remembering the Holocaust and ‘giving victims a voice’

  2. Four AcademiaNet members secure funding from the Swedish Brain Foundation

    Their projects cover Alzheimer’s Disease, Parkinson’s Disease, depression and neonatal brain development

  3. Ursula Keller has won the Swiss Science Prize Marcel Benoist, known as the ‘Swiss Nobel Prize’

    The physicist is honoured for her work on ultrafast lasers, including systems now used in manufacturing, communications technology and surgery

  4. Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser receives Croonian Medal and Lecture from the Royal Society

    She was chosen for her ground-breaking work on plant hormones and her dedication to gender equality in science

  5. Agneta Nordberg receives Lifetime Achievement Award from the Alzheimer’s Association

    The neuroscientist is known for her ground-breaking work on amyloid PET imaging and the neurotransmitter acetylcholine

Academia Net