Career News

Almut Arneth, Marietta Auer and Stefanie Dehnen among recipients of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2022

29.4.2022 | The AcademiaNet members are honoured for their research on ecosystems and climate change, legal history and theory, and metal cluster synthesis.

Three AcademiaNet members are among the ten winners of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2022: Almut Arneth, Marietta Auer and Stefanie Dehnen. The prize is awarded annually by the German Research Foundation (DFG) to ‘exceptional’ academics for ‘outstanding’ feats of research. With the prize comes €2.5 million for each winner.

Prof. Dr. Almut Arneth
Bild vergrößern
Prof. Dr. Almut Arneth

Prof Arneth, who is based at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) in Germany, was awarded the prize for her work on the interaction between climate change and land-based ecosystems, for example in terms of biodiversity loss. She also frequently submits expert evidence on the subject of climate change, such as for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). In a press release, KIT’s president Prof Holger Hanselka spoke of her ‘outstanding expertise’ and said he was ‘very proud and happy’ for her.

Prof. Dr. Marietta Auer
Bild vergrößern
Prof. Dr. Marietta Auer

The second AcademiaNet member to win this year is Prof Auer. The legal historian and philosopher, who is based at the Max Planck Institute for Legal History and Legal Theory, was recognised for her contribution to the understanding of private law in relation to public law. In the announcement, DFG referred to her doctoral thesis, in which she reveals a number of sources for tension within legal theory, as ‘groundbreaking’. On winning the prize, she commented in a press release: “The high visibility afforded by the Leibniz Prize for questions of fundamental legal research represents an exceptional opportunity.”

Prof. Dr. Stefanie Dehnen
Bild vergrößern
Prof. Dr. Stefanie Dehnen

Finally, Prof Dehnen was awarded the prize for work on the synthesis of novel metal clusters for energy storage applications. Prof Dehnen has developed a synthetic approach that allows her to tailor-make such clusters, precise to the atom, and the method is now used worldwide. “Prof Dehnen belongs to the extremely small group of German scientists who are really outstanding in all important areas of academic life,” said Prof Katharina Krause, the President of her university, Philipps University of Marburg, and a fellow AcademiaNet member in a press release.

The monetary award that comes with Leibniz Prize is the one of the most generous research awards in Germany, and gives the winners the opportunity to do their research without constraints for up to seven years.

  (© Emilie Steinmark / AcademiaNet /

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us


  1. Michaela Raggam-Blesch awarded the Leon Zelman Prize in Vienna

    The historian is honoured for her work documenting and remembering the Holocaust and ‘giving victims a voice’

  2. Four AcademiaNet members secure funding from the Swedish Brain Foundation

    Their projects cover Alzheimer’s Disease, Parkinson’s Disease, depression and neonatal brain development

  3. Ursula Keller has won the Swiss Science Prize Marcel Benoist, known as the ‘Swiss Nobel Prize’

    The physicist is honoured for her work on ultrafast lasers, including systems now used in manufacturing, communications technology and surgery

  4. Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser receives Croonian Medal and Lecture from the Royal Society

    She was chosen for her ground-breaking work on plant hormones and her dedication to gender equality in science

  5. Agneta Nordberg receives Lifetime Achievement Award from the Alzheimer’s Association

    The neuroscientist is known for her ground-breaking work on amyloid PET imaging and the neurotransmitter acetylcholine

Academia Net