Ülle Kotta wins Estonian National State Award 2018

27. 3. 2018 | Information scientist honoured for her achievements in the field of mathematics
Prof Dr Ülle Kotta
Bild vergrößern
Prof Dr Ülle Kotta

AcademiaNet member Ülle Kotta, senior scientist at the Tallin University of Technology in Estonia, received the prestigious Estonian National Science Award for her research work in exact sciences. The award is handed out annually by the Estonian Ministry of Education and Research. Eleven scientists are honoured in three categories for excellent research results.

Ülle Kotta can already look back on a long and successful career in mathematics, information technologies and software science. She won the award in recognition of her work on “Algebraic methods in mathematical control theory”, which has made significant contributions in developing algebraic methods for continuous as well as discrete-time nonlinear control systems. Together with her research group she proved that autonomous systems can operate with only one sensor and actuator, respectively. She also defined two broad classes of discrete time systems which can be decomposed into observable and unobservable subsystems. Her group’s research also notably works on robust control systems, modeling of control systems, learning and planning in robotic systems as well as formal testing and verification methods for distributed and embedded systems.

The Estonian National Science Award is worth 50 000 Euros. In 1996, she already won this very award for her work on “Inversion method in the discrete-time nonlinear control systems synthesis problems”.

  (© AcademiaNet)

More information


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.


  1. SNSF will run AcademiaNet

    More women in scientific leadership positions - this is the goal of AcademiaNet, the European database listing outstanding women researchers. As of January 2020, it will be run by the SNSF.

  2. AcademiaNet at a crossroads – a look back and future perspectives

    The Robert Bosch Foundation (RBS) has founded AcademiaNet and funded the platform from the beginning. They now have to end the funding at a time when AcademiaNet starts to gain momentum. We spoke with Dr Katrin Rehak-Nitsche, Senior Vice President for Science and Research at the RBS, about the situation.

  3. "We are missing out on a lot of potential…”

    Interview with AcademiaNet member Eva-Maria Feichtner

  4. Narcissism: not only an individual failing

    Interview with AcademiaNet member Agnieszka Golec de Zavala

  5. Film and television tell children who can be scientists

    Roles on the screen largely reinforce the message that scientists are white men.