Short CV/Education and training

  • Since 2020
    Helmholtz Young Investigator Group Leader, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

  • 2018 – 2020
    Postdoctoral Fellow, Advanced Study Program, National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR), USA

  • 2016 – 2018
    Postdoctoral Researcher, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

  • 2013 – 2016
    Ph.D. Student, CLOUD-TRAIN Early-Stage Researcher, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

  • 2010 – 2013
    Research Assistant, University of Helsinki, Finland

Selected publications

  • Järvinen, E., O. Jourdan, D. Neubauer, B. Yao, C. Liu, M. O. Andreae, U. Lohmann, M. Wendisch, G. M. McFarquhar, T. Leisner, and M. Schnaiter. Ad- ditional global climate cooling by clouds due to ice crystal complexity. Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics, 18(21):15767–15781, 2018.

  • Järvinen, E., M. Schnaiter, G. Mioche, O. Jourdan, V. N. Shcherbakov, et al. Quasi-spherical ice in convective clouds. Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences, 73(10):3885–3910, 2016.

  • Järvinen, E., O Kemppinen, T Nousiainen, T Kociok, O Möhler, T Leisner, and M Schnaiter. Laboratory investigations of mineral dust near-backscattering depolarization ratios. Journal of Quantitative Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer, 178:192–208, 2016.

  • Järvinen, E., K. Ignatius, L. Nichman, T. B. Kristensen, Fuchs, et al. Observa- tion of viscosity transition in α-pinene secondary organic aerosol. Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics, 16(7):4423–4438, 2016.

Complete list of publications


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Dr. Chantal Abergel

    Biological and related sciences, Physical sciences, Environmental virology, Molecular and structural biology, biochemistry

  2. Prof. Dr. Monika Aidelsburger

    Physical sciences, Quantum simulation, Ultracold atoms

  3. Dr. Cristina Afonso

    Physical sciences

  4. Prof. Ana Akrap

    Physical sciences, Experimental condensed matter physics

Academia Net