Short CV/Education and training

  • 1987 – 1993
    PhD student, New York University, Departments of Chemistry and Biology

  • 1993 – 1995
    Post-doctoral fellow at Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York

  • 1995 – 1997
    Post-doctoral fellow at Harvard Medical School, Boston

  • 1997 – 1999
    Staff scientist in X-ray crystallography, Wyeth Research, Cambridge, MA, USA

  • 1999 – 2000
    Visiting scientist at the EMBL Grenoble; consultant for Wyeth Research, Cambridge, USA

  • 2001 – 2005
    CNRS Researcher (CR1); Laboratoire de Cristallographie Macromoléculaire, IBS, Grenoble

  • 2005 – 2012
    CNRS Research director (DR2), Bacterial Pathogenesis Group, IBS

  • Since 2012
    Professor at the Universidade Estadual de Campinas (Unicamp; Professor Pleno)

  • Since 2012
    Director of an 'International Associated Laboratory (CNRS)' between France and Brazil

  • 2013
    CNRS Research director (DR1), Bacterial Pathogenesis Group, Institut de Biologie Structurale

Selected publications

  • Neves D, and Dessen, A (2012) Sensing stability. Nature Chem. Biol. 8, 681-682.

  • Gendrin C et al. (2012) Structural basis of cytotoxicity mediated by the type III secretion toxin ExoU from Pseudomonas aeruginosa. PLoS Pathog. e1002637.

  • Lebreton A et al. (2011) A bacterial protein targets the BAHD1 chromatin silencing complex to stimulate interferon-g response. Science 331, 1319-1320.

  • Izoré, T. et al. (2010) Structural basis of host cell recognition by the pilus adhesin from Streptococcus pneumoniae. Structure 18, 106-115.

  • Macheboeuf, P. et al. (2007) Structural and mechanistic basis of penicillin-binding protein inhibition by lactivicins. Nature Chem. Biol. 3, 565-569.

  • Quinaud, M. et al. (2007) Structure of the heterotrimeric complex that regulates type III secretion needle formation. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 104, 7803-7808.

  • Macheboeuf, P. et al. (2005). Active site restructuring regulates ligand recognition in class A penicillin-binding proteins (PBPs). Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 102, 577-582.

  • Schoehn, G. et al. (2003). Oligomerization of type III secretion proteins PopB and PopD precedes pore formation in Pseudomonas. EMBO J. 22, 4957-4967.

  • Dessen, A. et al. (1999) Crystal structure of human cytosolic phospholipase A2 reveals a novel topology and catalytic mechanism. Cell 97, 349-360.

  • Weissenhorn, W., Dessen, A. et al. (1997) Atomic structure of the ectodomain from HIV-1 gp41. Nature 387, 426-430.

  • Dessen, A. et al. (1995) Crystal structure and function of wild type and drug-resistant forms of the isoniazid target of Mycobacterium tuberculosis. Science 267, 1638-1641.

Complete list of publications

Selected projects

  • mechanisms of antibiotic resistance of bacterial pathogens

  • structure and function of bacterial toxin secretion complexes

  • mechanism of cell wall formation in bacteria

  • bacterial virulence factors and interactions with the eukaryotic host

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • Member of Faculty of 1000

  • Member of the Executive Committee, FINOVI Foundation, France

  • Member of the Scientific, Medical and Technological Steering Committee, IRT BIOASTER, France

  • Member of the Microbiology and Infection Committee of the National Research Agency (ANR), France

  • Referee for: EMBO Long/short term fellowships/

    ERC Young Investigator Program/Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research/Belgian National Research Fund (FNRS)/Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO)/ANR


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Dr. Libertat Abad Muñoz

    Physical sciences, Physical Sciences and Technology

  2. Prof. Dr. Miriam Agler-Rosenbaum

    Biological and related sciences, Microbial bioelectrochemistry, Microbial electrophysiology

  3. Prof. Patrizia Agostinis

    Biological and related sciences, Health, Cell Biology, Cellular signaling, Cancer biology, Cancer therapy

  4. Dr. Chantal Abergel

    Biological and related sciences, Physical sciences, Environmental virology, Molecular and structural biology, biochemistry

Academia Net