Short CV/Education and training

  • 1990 – 1995
    Diplom-Chemikerin, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität, Bonn

  • 1992 – 1995
    Research Assistant, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität, Bonn

  • 1995 – 2001
    Fellow of the “Fonds der Chemischen Industrie” & Villigst Fellow (Ev. Studienwerk), Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität, Bonn, and Max-Planck-Institute for Solid State Research Stuttgart

  • 1995 – 2001
    Dr. rer. nat. (with distinction) at Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, Stuttgart, and as the degree granting institution: Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität, Bonn

  • 2001 – 2003
    Feodor-Lynen-Fellow (AvH), Ames Laboratory & Iowa State Unversity, Ames, IA, USA

  • 2003 – 2006
    Liebig-Fellow & Scientific Assistant (C1), Universität zu Köln

  • 2006
    Habilitation (Priv.-Doz.) and venia legendi, Universität zu Köln, D

  • 2006 – 2007
    Affiliate Professor, Iowa State Unversity, Ames, IA, USA

  • 2006 – 2013
    Professor of Inorganic & Materials Chemistry, Ruhr-Universität Bochum

  • Since 2008
    Adjunct Professor, The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

  • 2013 – 2017
    Faculty Scientist, U.S. DOE Ames Laboratory

  • 2013 – 2017
    Glenn Murphy Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Iowa State University

  • Since 2017
    Head of Physical Materials Chemistry, Stockholm University, Sweden

  • 2010
    Associate Editor of Crystal Growth & Design, American Chemical Society

Selected publications

  • A.S.R. Chesman, M. Yang, B. Mallick, T.M. Ross, I.A. Gass, G.B. Deacon, S.R. Batten, A.-V. Mudring: Melting Point Suppression in new Lanthanoid(III) Ionic Liquids by Trapping of Kinetic Polymorphs: an /In Situ/ Synchrotron Powder Diffraction Study, /Chem. Commun. /*2012*, /48/, 124.

  • T. Alammar, A.-V. Mudring: Sonochemical Synthesis of 0D-, 1D- and 2D-Nano-Zinc Oxide in Ionic Liquids and its Photocatalytic Activity, /ChemSusChem /*2011*,/ 4/, 1796.

  • P. Ghosh, S. Tang, A.-V. Mudring: Efficient quantum cutting in hexagonal NaGdF_4 :Eu^3+ nanorods, /J. Mat. //Chem. /*2011*, /21/, 8640/./ (HOT Article)

  • C. Lorbeer, J. Cybinska, E. Zych, A.-V. Mudring: Ionic liquid based synthesis – a low temperature route to nanophosphates, /ChemSusChem /*2011*, /4/, 595/./

  • K. Richter, A. Birkner, A.-V. Mudring: Stabilizer-free, long-time stable copper nanoparticles and copper-zinc oxide nanocomposites via physical vapour deposition into ionic liquids/, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. /2010, /49/, 2431/./

  • N. v. Prondzinski, J. Cybinska, A.-V. Mudring: Easy access to ultra long-time stable, luminescent reduced lanthanide(II) fluoride nanoparticles in ionic liquids, /Chem. Commun./ *2010*, /46/, 4393.

  • C. Lorbeer, J. Cybinska, A.-V. Mudring: Facile preparation of quantum cutting GdF_3 :Eu^3+ nanoparticles from ionic liquids, /Chem. //Commun. /*2010*, /63/, 571. (HOT Article)

  • B. Mallick, B. Balke, C. Felser, A.-V. Mudring: (CrCl_3 )_3 @2[C_4 mim][OMe] ― Molecular Cluster-Type Chromium(III) Chloride Stabilized in a Salt Matrix, /J. Am. Chem. Soc. /2008,/ 130/, 10068.

  • B. Mallick, B. Balke, C. Felser, A.-V. Mudring: Dysprosium room temperature ionic liquids exhibiting strong luminescence and response to magnetic fields, /Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. /2008,/ 120, /7635.

  • S.-F. Tang, A. Babai, A.-V. Mudring: Low melting europium ionic liquids as luminescent soft materials, /Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. /2008,/ 120, /7631.

Complete list of publications

Selected projects

  • Funding as a PI 2006 – 2012


  • LUMINET, Marie-Curie-Initial-Training network, co-ordinator, 7th Framework Programme of the EU und SMILE – Smart Materials from Ionic Liquids for Energy, Merkator-Stiftung


  • „Luminescent properties of functional materials made from ionic liquids investigated by VUV excitation“, Hasylab, DESY, Deutsches Elektronensynchrotron

  • „Mesophase Determination of Ionic Liquid Crystals – The Effect of the Anion“, Hasylab, DESY, Deutsches Elektronensynchrotron

  • „EXAFS – Structure Determination of Nanoparticles in Ionic Liquids“, Hasylab, DESY, Deutsches Elektronensynchrotron

  • „Bright EMIL“ (ERC, Proof-of-Concept)


  • „IL Mesophases“ (SPP 1191, DFG)

  • „Transition Metals in ILs“ (SPP 1191, DFG)

  • „Mesophase Determination of Ionic Liquid Crystals”, Hasylab, DESY, Deutsches Elektronensynchrotron


  • NRW-Ziel2 „SorenHyBio“ (Desulferization of Biogas, Chemical Industry/Ministry of Science and Education)

  • „Nanoparticles for Catalysis“ (RUB 558, DFG)

  • „Improved UV light conversion phosophors from task specific ionic liquids“, Hasylab, DESY, Deutsches Elektronensynchrotron


  • „Lanthanide based ILs (SPP 1166, DFG)

  • “Ionic Liquid Crystals” (SPP 1191, DFG)

  • „Transition Metals in Ionic Liquids“ (SPP 1191, DFG)

  • „EMIL“ – Nanophosphors, ERC Starting Grant (7th EU-FP)


  • „Chemistry with Relativity“ (DFG)

  • „Nanoparticles for Catalysis“ (SFB 558, DFG)


  • „Reactive Lanthanide Compounds in ILs“ (SPP 1166, DFG)

  • „Design of metal-containing ionic liquid crystals and study of their structural, thermal and spectroscopic properties" (SPP 1191, DFG)

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • Director of the RUB-Research Department Interfacial Systems Chemistry, since 2011

  • Member of the RESOLV/ZEMOS research center, since 2011

  • Board Member, Evangelisches Studienwerk Villigst e.V., since 2011

  • Member of the RUB Equality Commission, since 2011

  • Editorial Board, Crystals (MDPI) , since 2010

  • Editorial Board, Terrae Rarae (NWT-Verlag) , since 2009

  • Secretary of the European Rare Earth Society (ERES) , since 2008

  • Member of the RUB-Research Department Interfacial Systems Chemistry, currently speaker, since 2008

  • Member of the RUB Chemistry Teaching Commission, since 2008

  • Board Member of the Evangelischer Hochschulbeirat (EKD) , since 2008

  • Advisory Board of the International Chemistry Olympics, 2005

  • Training of the Geman Team for the International Chemistry Olympics, 1991 – 2006

  • Referee for various journals in general, inorganic, physical and materials chemistry, served on various search committees, national and international PhD committees

Membership in Societies:

  • ERES – European Rare Earth Society, EU

  • RSC – Royal Society of Chemistry, UK

  • ACS – American Chemical Society, USA

  • MRS – Materials Research Society, USA

  • Sigma Xi Scientific Honor Society, USA

  • GDCh – Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (FG Festkörperchemie, FG Chemieunterricht, Wöhler-Vereinigung), D

  • DPG – Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft, D

  • DGK – Deutsche Gesellschaft für Kristallographie, D

  • GdNÄ – Gesellschaft Deutscher Naturforscher und Ärzte, D

  • DECHEMA – Gesellschaft für Chemische Technik und Biotechnologie, D


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Prof. Núria Aliaga-Alcalde

    Physical sciencesNanoscience and nanotechnology, Coordination Chemistry, Supramolecular Chemistry, Molecular Magnetism

  2. Prof. Lital Alfonta

    Biological and related sciences , Physical sciencesBioelectrochemistry, Synthetic Biology, Chemical Biology

  3. Prof. Dr. Seema Agarwal

    Physical sciencesPreparative and physical chemistry of polymersNanotechnology

  4. Dr. Iris Altpeter

    Engineering and engineering trades , Physical sciencesMicromagnetic testing methods