Short CV/Education and training

  • 1993
    MSc degree in Physics, St. Petersburg State University, Russia

  • 2000
    PhD in Physics and Mathematics, St. Petersburg State University, Russia

  • 2000
    Royal Society/NATO postdoctoral research fellowship, Queen's University of Belfast, UK

  • 2001 – 2005
    Postdoctoral research appointments in Chemistry at the Universities of Nottingham, Sussex and Cambridge, UK

  • 2005
    Royal Society UK Relocation Fellowship, University of Nottingham, UK

  • 2007
    Visiting Academic Research Fellow at the Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

  • 2008 – 2014
    EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellowship, UK

  • 2011
    Lecturer in Theoretical and Computational Chemistry, University of Nottingham, UK

  • 2013
    Associate Professor, University of Nottingham, UK

  • 2013 – 2018
    ERC Consolidator grant, EU

  • 2015
    Professor of Theoretical and Computational Chemistry, University of Nottingham, UK

  • 2020 – 2024
    Wolfson Fellowship, the Royal Society, UK

Selected publications

  • Nanostructuring of the fast ion conductor, lithium nitride. Nature Communications (2020).


  • Atomic mechanism of metal crystal nucleus formation in a single-walled carbon nanotube. Nature Chemistry (2020).


  • Ordering, flexibility and frustration in arrays of porphyrin nanorings. Nature Communications 10, 2932 (2019).


  • Comparison of atomic scale dynamics for the middle and late transition metal nanocatalysts. Nature Communications 9, 3382 (2018).


  • Supramolecular heterostructures formed by sequential epitaxial deposition of two-dimensional hydrogen-bonded arrays. Nature Chemistry 9, 1191-1197 (2017).


  • A partially-interpenetrated metal-organic framework for selective hysteretic sorption of carbon dioxide. Nature Materials 11, 710-716 (2012).


  • Self-assembly of a sulphur-terminated graphene nanoribbon within a single-walled carbon nanotube. Nature Materials 10, 687-692 (2011).


  • Reactions of the inner surface of carbon nanotubes and nanoprotrusion processes imaged at the atomic scale. Nature Chemistry 3, 732-737 (2011).


  • Direct transformation of graphene to fullerene. Nature Chemistry 2(6), 450-453 (2010).


Complete list of publications

Selected projects

  • EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Sustainable Hydrogen (SusHy)

    Principal Investigator: Prof. Gavin Walker (Faculty of Engineering, University of Nottingham)

    Co-Directors: Prof. Elena Besley and others

    Duration: April 1st 2019 – September 30th 2027

    Scheme: EPSRC Centres for Doctoral Training

  • Multi-Functional Nano-Carbon Composite Materials Network (MultiComp)

    The Proposer: Dr. Sharali Malik, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

    UK representative on the Management Committee and Working Group leader: Prof. Elena Besley

    Duration: April 7th 2016 – September 30th 2020

    Scheme: COST: European Cooperation in the field of Scientific and Technical Research

  • Coordination Chemistry for Energy and Our Sustainable Futures (ChemEnSus)

    Principal Investigator: Prof. Martin Schröder, School of Chemistry, University of Nottingham

    Co-Investigators: Dr. Elena Bichoutskaia and others

    Duration: June 9th 2011 – June 8th 2016

    Scheme: EPSRC Programme Grant

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • External referee for the Research Committee of the City University of Hong Kong

  • Member of the UK EPSRC College

Additional qualifications

  • PGCHE, Postgraduate Certificate in Higher Education, University of Nottingham, UK, 2013


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Prof. Dr. Núria Aliaga-Alcalde

    Physical sciences, Chemistry coordination, Chemistry, Molecular magnetism, Molecular electronics, Bioinorganics

  2. Prof. Dr. Conny Aerts

    Physical sciences, Asteroseismology

  3. Dr. Cristina Afonso

    Physical sciences

  4. Prof. Dr. Monika Aidelsburger

    Physical sciences, Quantum simulation, Ultracold atoms

Academia Net