Short CV/Education and training

  • Studied physics at the University of Bonn, Germany

Selected projects

  • Experimental test of the Gerasimov-Drell-Hearn sum rule

  • Neutrino telescope ANTARES and KM3NeT

  • Particle detector AMADEUS

  • Medical x-ray phase-contrast tomography (PHACT)

  • Medipix detectors

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • Deputy chairperson of the Particle Physics Division within the German Physical Society since 2009

  • Member of the Physics Research Committee of the DESY (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) since 2004

  • Member of the Committee on Astroparticle Physics, 2004 – 2007

  • Jury chairperson for the federal level of the competition "Jugend forscht" (Youth in research) since 2003

  • Prize committee chairperson for the German Physical Society's Kerschensteiner Prize, 2003 – 2007

  • Member of the advisory committee for the collaborative research group "Hadrons and Nuclear Physics" funded by the BMBF (German Federal Ministry of Education and Research), 2003 – 2006

  • Member of the supervisory board of the Karlsruhe Research Centre, Germany, 2002 – 2007

  • Member of the Committee on Hadrons and Nuclear Physics, 2002 – 2005

  • Member of the review board "Particles, Nuclei, and Fields" for the German Research Foundation, 2000 – 2008

  • Member of the board of trustees of the Federal Institute for Physical Sciences and Technology, Braunschweig, Germany, since 1999

  • Jury chairperson of the European competition "EU Contest for Young Scientists", 1995 – 1997

Media coverage


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Dr. Libertat Abad Muñoz

    Physical sciences, Physical Sciences and Technology

  2. Prof. Dr. Conny Aerts

    Physical sciences, Asteroseismology

  3. Prof. Ana Akrap

    Physical sciences, Experimental condensed matter physics

  4. Dr. Fatemeh Ajalloueian

    Physical sciences, Biopolymers, Fiber science