Short CV/Education and training

  • 1988 – 1989
    Diploma work at University of Rome "La Sapienza", Rome, Italy

  • 1990
    M.Sc. Th Physics, University of Groningen, Netherlands

  • 1990 – 1992
    PhD-student at "Service de Physique Théorique", CEA Saclay, France

  • 1991
    Summer stay at European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg, Germany

  • 1992 – 1994
    Research Associate at Departments of Physics and Molecular Biology, Princeton University, Princeton NJ, USA

  • 1994
    Ph.D. Physics, University of Orsay ("Paris-Sud"), Orsay, France

  • 1994 – 1996
    Postdoctoral position at Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill NJ,USA

  • 1997 – 2000
    Project leader, FOM Institute AMOLF, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Group: Bio-assembly and organization

  • Since 2000
    Group leader, FOM Institute for AMOLF, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Group: Bio-assembly and organization

  • Since 2000
    Affiliation (“Bijzonder hoogleraar”) University of Leiden, Physics Department (since 2010: regular “hoogleraar”)

  • Since 2003
    Head of Department: Systems Biophysics, FOM Institute AMOLF, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

  • 2006 – 2007
    Sabbatical leave, Erasmus Medical Center, Department of Cell Biology (c/o Dr. A. Akhmanova), Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Selected publications

  • L. Laan, N. Pavin, J. Husson, G. Romet-Lemonne, M. van Duijn, M. Preciado-Lopez, R. D. Vale, F. Jülicher, S. L. Reck-Peterson, and M. Dogterom: Cortical dynein controls microtubule dynamics to generate pulling forces that position microtubule asters, Cell (in press)

  • C. Tischer, D. Brunner, and M. Dogterom: Force- and kinesin-8-dependent effects in the spatial regulation of fission yeast microtubule dynamics, Mol. Sys. Biol. 5, 250 (2009)

  • Y. Komarova, C.O. De Groot, I. Grigoriev, S.M. Gouveia, E.L. Munteanu, J.M. Schober, S. Honnappa, R.M. Buey, C.C. Hoogenraad, M. Dogterom, G.G. Borisy, M.O. Steinmetz, and A. Akhmanova: Mammalian end binding proteins control persistent microtubule growth , J Cell Biol. 184, 691-706 (2009)

  • L. Laan, J. Husson, E.L. Munteanu, J.W.J. Kerssemakers, and M. Dogterom: The cooperative behavior of a force-generating microtubule bundle, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 105, 8920-8925 (2008)

  • M. Footer, J.W.J. Kerssemakers, J. Theriot, and M. Dogterom: Direct measurement of force generation by actin filament polymerization using an optical trap, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 104, 2181-2186 (2007)

  • P. Bieling, L. Laan, H. Schek, L. Munteanu, L. Sandblad, D. Brunner, M. Dogterom, and T. Surrey: Reconstitution of a microtubule plus-end tracking system in vitro, Nature 450, 1100-1105 (2007)

  • J.W.J. Kerssemakers, E.L. Munteanu, L. Laan, T.L. Noetzel, M.E. Janson, and M. Dogterom: Assembly dynamics of microtubules at molecular resolution, Nature 442, 709-712 (2006)

  • M. Dogterom, J.W.J. Kerssemakers, G. Romet-Lemonne, and M.E. Janson: Force generation by dynamic microtubules, Curr. Opin. Cell Biol. 17, 67-74 (2005)

  • G. Koster, M. van Duijn, and M. Dogterom: Membrane tubes formed by dynamic association of motor proteins, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 100, 15583-15588 (2003)

  • M.E. Janson, M.E. de Dood, and M. Dogterom: Dynamic instability of microtubules is regulated by force, J. Cell Biol. 161, 1029-1034 (2003)

Selected projects

Funding ID

  • Nanomolecular Machines in Cellular Force Transduction [programme director, total 6.8 M€], National programme NanoNextNL, 2010 – 2016

  • Mechanosensing and Mechanotransduction by Cells [co-PI], Foundation for Research on Matter (FOM), 2009 – 2014

  • Spatial design of biochemical regulation networks [programme director, total 3.1 M€], Foundation for Research on Matter (FOM), 2008 – 2013

  • Cytoskeleton-based spatial control of protein networks [VICI grant], Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO), 2007 – 2013

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • Member American Society for Cell Biology (Member Program Committee 2007 Annual Meeting)

  • Member Biophysical Society (Member Nominating Committee 2008-2009).

National/international committee and board memberships

  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW): Member of the Committee for Biochemistry and Biophysics (2004-2007), the Council of Physics and Astronomy (2005-2007), the Council for Technical Sciences, Mathematics and Informatics, Physics, Astronomy and Chemistry (2008-present), and the Jury of the international Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics (2008-present)

  • Dutch Foundation for Fundamental Research of Matter (FOM): Member of the Subfield Advisory Committee “Processes in Living Systems” (2008-present), of the Subfield Advisory Committee “Condensed Matter” (2001) and referee for various FOM grants.

  • Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO): panel member and chair for various (prestigious) grants such as VENI-VIDI-VICI.

  • Other: Member of the preparatory EPS advisory board on “Physics in Life Sciences” (2001), frequent advisor to doctoral training programmes (e.g. Gottingen Graduate School for Neurosciences, Biophysics, and Molecular Biosciences, 2009-present) and conferences/workshops (e.g. European School on Nanosciences and Nanotechnologies ESONN, 2004-present), member of the Program Board for Physics (2002-2008) and Life Sciences (2006-2010) of the Lorenz Center, Leiden University.

Editorial activities

  • Member of Liquids, Soft Matter and Biological Physics Editorial Board, Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter, 2002-2003.

  • Member Editorial Board, Biophysical Journal, 2005-2010.

  • Member Editorial Board, Cell, 2009-present.

Activities as peer reviewer

  • Reviewer for journals such as Science, Nature, PNAS, PRL, Cell, Biophysical Journal, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Methods, Current Biology, Phys Rev E,.

  • Reviewer for NSF (USA), HFSP, Agence National de la Recherche (France).

  • Member International Evaluation Committees: Institut Curie Physico-Chimie, Paris, 2006, Laboratoire de Physique Statistique, Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris, 2009, the International Max Planck Research School in Chemical Biology, Dortmund, 2012.


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

Follow us

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Prof. Dr. Conny Aerts

    Physical sciences, Asteroseismology

  2. Dr. Libertat Abad Muñoz

    Physical sciences, Physical Sciences and Technology

  3. Prof. Dr. Miriam Agler-Rosenbaum

    Biological and related sciences, Microbial bioelectrochemistry, Microbial electrophysiology

  4. Prof. Dr. Amparo Acker-Palmer

    Biological and related sciences, Health, Cell Biology, Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience, Vascular Biology, Tumour Biology



  1. "Why do so many women leave science?"

    Life scientists Marileen Dogterom, Susan M. Gasser and Kai Simons try to answer this question, along with Cordelia Fine, a psychologist working on gender stereotypes.

Academia Net