Short CV/Education and training

  • 1993 – 1996
    Research associate, Technical University of Munich, Germany; in the work group of Prof. Notker Rösch: density functional theory of catalytically active systems

  • 1996 – 1999
    Postdoc, Max Planck Institute (MPI) for Metals Research, Stuttgart, Germany; in the department of Prof. Manfred Rühle, in the work group of Prof. Christian Elsässer: density functional theory of internal surfaces

  • 1999 – 2000
    Fellow of the International School of Advanced Studies, Trieste, Italy; in the work group of Prof. Erio Tosatti: simulation of nanowires

  • 2000 – 2003
    Post-doctoral work, Department of Physics, Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany; in the work group of Prof. Michael Schreiber: simulation of defects in materials

  • 2004 – 2006
    Research associate, Dresden University of Technology, Germany; in the work group of Prof. Gotthard Seifert: modelling the stability and structural and electronic characteristics of nanostructured materials and simulation of composite materials with ferroic components; electronic transport

  • Since 2006
    Research associate, Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Institute of Ion-Beam Physics and Materials Research: scale-adaptive simulation of composite materials

  • Since 2010
    Director of the department Scaling Phenomena/Nanostructures; production, characterisation and modelling of effects and material characteristics on the nanoscale

Selected publications

  • Krause, M. et al.: Phase Segregation and Transformations in Arsenic-implanted ZnO Thin Films. In: Journal of Physical Chemistry C 115, 2011. pp. 8798-8807.

  • Wunderlich, F. et al.: EXAFS and XANES Analysis of a series of YMn2-xFexO5 compounds: Concerning the Fe site. In: Physical Review B 82, 2010. 014409.

  • Kunze, T. et al.: Electronic transport properties through thiophenes on switchable domains. In: Physical Review B 81, 2010. 115401.

  • Seidel, J. et al.: Conduction at domain walls in oxide multiferroics. In: Nature Materials 8, 2009. pp. 229-234.

  • Leisegang, T. et al.: Switching Ti valence in SrTiO3 by a DC electric field. In: Physical Review Letters 102, 2009. 087601.

  • Morawetz, K. et al.: Transport and noise in organic field effect devices. In: Physical Review B 79, 2009. 085405.

  • Kibsgaard, J. et al.: Atomic-scale structure of Mo6S6 nanowires. In: Nano Letters 8, 2008. pp. 3928-3931.

  • Popov, I. et al.: Electromechanical switch based on Mo6S6 nanowires. In: Nano Letters 8, 2008. pp. 4093-4097.

  • Enyashin, A.N. et al.: Structure and Stability of Molybdenum Sulfide Fullerenes. In: Angewandte Chemie 119, 2007. pp. 631-635. In: Angewandte Chemie International Edition 46, 2007. pp. 623-627.

  • Gemming, S., Seifert, G., Schreiber, M.: Density-functional investigation of gold-coated metallic nanowires. In: Physical Review B 69(24), 2004. 245410.

  • Tosatti, E. et al.: The unusual structural and electronic properties of gold nanowires. In: Science 291, 2001. p. 288.

Selected projects

  • Helmholtz Virtual Institute MEMRIOX of Memory Effects in Resistive Ion-beam Modified Oxides, Speaker, partnered with the Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), Research Centre Jülich, Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Dresden University of Technology (TU Dresden), Freiberg University of Mining and Technology (TU Bergakademie Freiberg), Germany; U.C. San Diego, USA; Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, 2011-2016

  • Nucleation from spin ordering in low-dimensional colloidal particle systems, German Research Foundation (DFG) Individual Grant, co-grantee with Dr A. Erbe, HZDR, Prof. M. Albrecht, Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany, 2011-2014

  • Formation, stability and structure of nanoscale phases in functional oxides and their effect on Materials Science, DFG Individual Grant, 2009-2012

  • Surfaces of ferroic oxides, projects C2 and C3 within the Research Unit FOR 520 "Ferroic functional elements", Dresden University of Technology, 2003-2009

  • Surfaces of ferroelectric materials with organic compounds, Priority Programme SPP 1157 "Electroceramic materials", with Prof. Gotthard Seifert and Prof. Lukas Eng, Dresden University of Technology, 2003-2009

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • German Crystallographic Society, member of the extended executive committee

  • International Union of Crystallographers, Member of the Commission on Mathematical and Theoretical Crystallography


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Prof. Dr. Seema Agarwal

    Physical sciencesPreparative and physical chemistry of polymersNanotechnology

  2. Prof. Núria Aliaga-Alcalde

    Physical sciencesNanoscience and nanotechnology, Coordination Chemistry, Supramolecular Chemistry, Molecular Magnetism

  3. Dr. Ana Akrap

    Physical sciencesExperimental condensed matter physics

  4. Dr. Fatemeh Ajalloueian

    Physical sciencesBiopolymers, Fiber science