Short CV/Education and training

  • 1982
    Diplom degree in chemistry, Marburg University

  • 1983
    Doctor of Natural Science (Dr. rer. nat.) in anorganic chemistry, Marburg University

  • 1984 – 1985
    Visiting researcher, University of Sussex, England

  • 1985 – 1986
    Visiting researcher, University of Western Australia

  • 1986 – 1987
    Visiting researcher, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

  • 1988
    Habilitation (postdoctoral qualification) and venia legendi (authorisation to teach), Marburg University

  • 1988 – 1990
    Research associate at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany

  • 1990 – 1991
    Professor (leave replacement) at the University of Hohenheim, Stuttgart

  • 1991 – 1992
    Professor (leave replacement) at Heidelberg University, Germany

  • 1990 – 1993
    Visiting researcher at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany (Heisenberg fellow)

  • Since 1993
    C4 professor of anorganic chemistry, University of Leipzig, Germany

Selected publications

  • Schisler, A. et al.: Natrium-Tetra-tert-butyl-cyclopentaphosphanid – Synthese, Struktur und unerwartete Bildung eines Nickel(0)-Tri-tert-butyl-cyclopentaphosphen-Komplexes. In: Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 40, 2001. p. 4217.

  • Tschirschwitz, S. et al.: From Novel Chiral Primary Aminoalkyl(phosphanyl)ferrocenes to the First Lithium-Phosphorus closo Cluster. In: Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 44, 2005. p. 2965.

  • Wolf, R., Hey-Hawkins, E.: Synthesis and Molecular Structure of the Cu4P8 cage compound [Cu4(P4Ph4)2(PCyp3)3]. In: Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 44, 2005. p. 6241.

  • Gómez-Ruiz, S. et al.: P-P Bond Cleavage of Tetraphenyltetraphosphane-1,4-diide Facilitated by Nickel(0). In: Chem. Europ. J. 14, 2008. p. 8980.

  • V'lean, A.M. et al.: When Arsine Makes the Difference: Chelating Phosphino- and Bridging Arsinoarylthiolato Gallium Complexes. In: Inorg. Chem. 47, 2008. p. 11284.

  • Stadlbauer, S., Welzel, P., Hey-Hawkins, E.: Access to Novel Carbaboranylbisphosphonates – An Odyssey. In: Inorg. Chem. 48, 2009. p. 5005.

  • Scholz, M. et al.: Asborin: The Carbaborane Analogue of Aspirin. In: ChemMedChem 4, 2009. p. 746.

Membership in scientific bodies/juries

  • Member of the board of trustees, German National Academic Foundation, since 2009

  • Member of the executive committee, Biotechnological-Biomedical Centre of the University of Leipzig, Germany (, since 2009

  • Member of the review board for natural sciences, German Research Foundation (DFG), since 2008

  • Member of the nominating committee for the Adolf Stock Memorial Prize and Wilhelm Klemm Prize (German Chemical Society), since 2008

  • Coordinator and spokesperson of the "Leipzig Graduate School of Natural Sciences – BuildMoNa" in the framework of the university excellence competition (, since 2007

  • Member of the German Technion Society, since 2007

  • Member of the German Association of University Professors and Lecturers, since 2006

  • Liaison to students from the German Research Foundation (DFG) to the University of Leipzig, since 2005

  • Spokesperson of PbF 1 (profile-raising research area, together with Prof. M. Grundmann) at the University of Leipzig (, since 2004

  • Member of the nominating committee for the Costin Nenitzescu–Rudolf Criegee Lecture of the German Chemical Society (GDCh), since 2003

  • Member of the Editorial Board, Zeitschrift für Angewandte and Allgemeine Chemie (Journal of Applied and General Chemistry), since 2002

  • Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK (CChem FRSC), since 1985

  • Member of the German Chemical Society (GDCh), since 1984

Additional qualifications

  • Vice dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Mineralogy, 2002 – 2005

  • Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Mineralogy, 2001 – 2002

  • Managing director of the Institute of Anorganic Chemistry, 1997 – 1999


You can only see the contact information of the academics in the database if you are a registered user of AcademiaNet.
Please register here


  1. Read what our members say about AcademiaNet.

No more excuses!

  1. Please download the brochure "No more excuses" and read more about female experts in Europe, and about AcademiaNet.

Similar profiles

  1. Prof. Dr. Barbara Albert

    Physical sciencesInorganic solid state and materials chemistry

  2. Dr. Iris Altpeter

    Engineering and engineering trades , Physical sciencesMicromagnetic testing methods

  3. Prof. Lital Alfonta

    Biological and related sciences , Physical sciencesBioelectrochemistry, Synthetic Biology, Chemical Biology

  4. Prof. Dr. Seema Agarwal

    Physical sciencesPreparative and physical chemistry of polymersNanotechnology



  1. Award for Leipzig Chemistry Professor

    Prof. Hey-Hawkins from the University of Leipzig is honoured for her academic achievements in basic and applied chemical research by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC).